Iregular

Control No Control

  • Présenté à
  • 2022
    Alternative Kyoto
    Kyoto, JP
  • 2022
    Jax Art Festival
    Riyadh, SAU
  • 2022
    Illuminate Adelaide
    Adelaide, AUS
  • 2022
    World of Winter
    Grand Rapids, USA
  • 2022
    Nordic Light Festival
    Toronto, CA
  • 2021
    Sharjah Islamic Arts Festival
    Sharjah, UAE
  • 2021
    Lumiere
    Durham, UK
  • 2020
    Festival Printemps des Arts de Monte-Carlo
    Monte-Carlo, MC
  • 2019
    Festival of Lights Dundrum
    Dublin, IRL
  • 2019
    Festival of Light
    Kuwait City, KWT
Control No Control

Conçue principalement pour les grands espaces, CONTROL NO CONTROL est une installation interactive à grande échelle prenant la forme d’une structure géométrique minimaliste, fidèle au style d’Iregular. Créée en 2011 à Montréal pour Igloofest, elle a depuis été présentée plus de 35 fois à travers le monde.

CONTROL NO CONTROL est un cube LED géant qui réagit à tout ce qui le touche et à chaque mouvement effectué sur sa surface. Des visuels et un son génératif émergent au fur et à mesure de l’interaction. Permettant à 48 personnes de participer en même temps, l’expérience est extrêmement intuitive, entraînant un engagement rapide du public et des interactions prolongées.

Une sorte d’expérimentation socio-numérique, l’œuvre explore la relation entre les participants et les installations interactives. Elle teste sa capacité intrinsèque à «instruire» et à déléguer le résultat audiovisuel final au public qui finit par prendre le contrôle de l’œuvre. Après l’avoir présentée plusieurs fois à travers les continents, les langues et les cultures, CONTROL NO CONTROL a révélé que les gens du monde entier ont tendance à se comporter généralement de la même manière autour du cube. Cela suggère la capacité de l’œuvre elle-même à manipuler à son tour le public, mettant en évidence la nature confuse de la relation de contrôle.

Demander de l’information
Voir la vidéo complète
Control No Control
Control No Control
Control No Control
Control No Control
Control No Control
Control No Control
Control No Control
Control No Control
Control No Control
Control No Control
Control No Control
Control No Control
Control No Control
Control No Control
Control No Control
Control No Control
Control No Control
Control No Control
Control No Control
Control No Control
Control No Control
Control No Control
Control No Control
Control No Control
Control No Control
Control No Control

Soumettez votre adresse courriel pour accéder à cette information

Iregular

Control No Control

  • Led Panels, Movement sensor
  • Now touring
  • Presented at
  • 2019
    Festival of Lights Dundrum
    Dublin, Ireland
  • 2019
    Festival of Light
    Kuwait City, Kuwait
  • 2019
    GLOW Festival
    Calgary, Alberta, Canada
  • 2018
    BIENNALE DES IMAGINAIRES NUMÉRIQUES
    Aix en Provence, France
  • 2018
    The Museum
    Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
  • 2017
    Lumiere
    Durham, United Kingdom
  • 2017
    Luna de Octubre
    Madrid, Spain
  • 2017
    Lux Light Festival
    Wellington, New Zealand
  • 2017
    L.E.V Festival
    Gijon, Spain
  • 2016
    Shuò Taikoo Li Light Festival
    Beijing, China
Control No Control

Conceived mainly for big open spaces, CONTROL NO CONTROL is a large-scale interactive installation in the form of a minimalistic geometric structure, true to Studio Iregular’s signature style. Created in 2011 in Montreal for Igloofest, it has since been presented over 35 times around the world.

CONTROL NO CONTROL is a big LED cube that reacts to everything that touches it and every movement performed on its surface. Streamlined patterns and generative sound emerge as interaction occurs. Allowing 48 people to participate at the same time, the experience is extremely intuitive, leading to quick audience engagement and prolonged interactions. 

A sort of socio-digital experiment, the piece explores the relationship between participants and interactive installations. It tests the artwork’s ability to intrinsically “instruct” and delegate the final audiovisual result to the audience that ends up gaining control of the piece. After presenting it many times across continents and cultures, CONTROL NO CONTROL revealed that people all over the globe tend to behave the same way around the cube, and all seemed to spend a lot of time engaging. This in turn suggests the ability for the artwork to manipulate the public as well, highlighting the back-and-forth blurred nature of the control relationship. 

Request info
Watch full video
Control No Control
Control No Control
Control No Control
Control No Control
Control No Control
Control No Control
Control No Control
Control No Control
Control No Control
Control No Control
Control No Control
Control No Control
Control No Control
Control No Control
Control No Control

Please submit your email to have access to info